|
And again domain name owners are victems of spam, and this time the spammer just proveed himself to be a bigger idiot. The spammer (alias: Alex Shaft) has either set things up so that all replies to his spam go back to everyone on the list, or back to innocent people who never sent the mail in the first place ! This is causing a real shitstorm of comments, autoreplies, bouncebacks and general annoyance in the web ! Read more ...
There's more to this spam than at first sight, and certainly it IS spam and its NOT from your domain name registrar:
Subject: Notice Regarding Your DOMAIN NAME From: "Domain Name Support" Date: Tue, October 28, 2008 5:16 am To: info @ worldswidedomainname .com
***************************************** Important Notice Regarding Your Domain Name(s) *****************************************
Dear Webmaster,
According to our records you are the ADMINISTRATIVE CONTACT.
We would like to inform you we have partnered up with LunarPages Web Hosting. We understand you are currently hosting with another provider. But we encourage you to try out LunarPages. LunarPages also has an affiliation program where you can embed banners on your website and earn $65 for every referral.
A little more information about LunarPages; Lunarpages Web Hosting was born from Add2Net in 2000, and has grown rapidly providing Shared Hosting, Dedicated, Reseller, and most recently, VPS Hosting Plans. LunarPages is BBB Accredited and is rated A for excellence. LunarPages also has received many Industry Awards including Web Host Magazines highest level of recommendation. LunarPages is one of the fewest hosting services that provide unlimited transfer and unlimited data storage.
LunarPages can fit your business needs whether you’re a small business or a large company. Join (or lurk about) Community Forums and ask our customers why they host with LunarPages. For more in depth information, news and articles about Web Hosting, Marketing, SEO, Traffic, AdWords, Design, Networking and General Fluff, visit Lunartics Blog (updated daily, sometimes hourly). Our BlogStars consist of a team of more than 20+ industry experts. You may learn something, or simply be entertained.
VISIT LUNARPAGES
If you’re not ready to give LunarPages “Web Hosting” a try just yet, TRY the affiliation program where you can earn hundreds or even thousands a month. Save this email for your records and click the link above for special promos throughout the year.
Best Regards,
Alex Shafts, CEO
World Wide Domain Names
If you are the domain administrator of more than one domain account, you may receive this notice multiple times. -------------------------------------------------------------------
All rights reserved.
Alex Shaft ? , and who are "World Wide Domain Names"? Lets take a look at the mail headers: X-Spam-Checker-Version: SpamAssassin 3.2.4 (2008-01-01) on blade2.cesmail.net X-Spam-Level: X-Spam-Status: hits=0.9 tests=HTML_MESSAGE,URIBL_RHS_DOB version=3.2.4 Received: from unknown (192.168.1.88) by blade2.cesmail.net with QMQP; 28 Oct 2008 05:27:00 -0000 Received: from mail500.opentransfer.com (98.130.1.155) by ********** with SMTP; 28 Oct 2008 05:27:04 -0000 Received: (qmail 624 invoked by uid 399); 28 Oct 2008 05:16:47 -0000 Mailing-List: contact info-help @ worldswidedomainname .com; run by ezmlm Precedence: bulk X-No-Archive: yes List-Post: List-Help: List-Unsubscribe: List-Subscribe: Delivered-To: mailing list info @ worldswidedomainname .com Received: (qmail 618 invoked by uid 399); 28 Oct 2008 05:16:47 -0000 X-Originating-IP: 68.230.241.45 Received-SPF: none (mail500.opentransfer.com: domain at worldswidedomainname.com does not designate permitted sender hosts) identity=mailfrom; client-ip=68.230.241.45; envelope-from=; X-Authority-Analysis: v=1.0 c=1 a=J2IRbVyBMHeSdsxzcmgA:9 a=21DexejRGg20G2OFDxsA:7 a=V6NLHKsM1nmveCJf-9nhvT6W67oA:4 a=htsp1cwEuSoA:10 a=6-9Fr_h7AAAA:8 a=Vm2oXCpbAAAA:8 a=n4JkmEeXAAAA:8 a=W_LaJHSTY1FKiyaM68cA:9 a=aa2LJqmKak3HsCtWz3EA:7 a=2hL6MRTsiU3c-Xv2ucuIwzcZna0A:4 a=ojskhZjZVJUA:10 a=pM-imOxlMqoA:10 a=fd-QgsGfzTIA:10 a=AfD3MYMu9mQA:10 X-CM-Score: 0.00 Message-ID: <802858ce0ad3496e988f0c3c39bc0060@alex> From: "Domain Name Support" To: Subject: Notice Regarding Your DOMAIN NAME Date: Tue, 28 Oct 2008 01:16:39 -0400
Originating IP address is 68.230.241.45 which is assigned to "Cox Communications" The WHOIS details for the "worldswidedomainname.com" domain match the sender's name: Registrant: Alex Shafts 504 LEONARD AV Las Vegas, NV 89106 US
Domain name: WORLDSWIDEDOMAINNAME.COM
Administrative Contact: Shafts, Alex worldsdomainnames @ yahoo.com 504 LEONARD AV Las Vegas, NV 89106 US 702.5431469 Technical Contact: Shafts, Alex worldsdomainnames @ yahoo.com 504 LEONARD AV Las Vegas, NV 89106 US 702.5431469
Registrar of Record: TUCOWS, INC. Record last updated on 24-Oct-2008. Record expires on 25-Oct-2009. Record created on 25-Oct-2008.
This domain is just a couple of days old which sets the alarm bells ringing. It's actually just spam for the LunarPages affiliate program. Web hosting affiliate programs can be big earners. It is in no way an official notice from your registrar.
Just to prove Mr. Axel Shaft himself a bigger idiot, the mailing list that he created to send out the spam ALSO accepts email from absolutely anyone (incl. autoresponders) so now there's a real shitstorm of comments, autoreplies and bouncebacks.
SO DO NOT RESPOND TO THOSE MESSAGES, AS YOU WILL TRIGGER ANOTHER AVALANCE OF SPAM MAILS ! What a plonker.... |